NHL Awards: A Hockeytown Perspective

One of the great things about having NHL Gamecenter is it allows you to meet and chat with fans from all over the world and who support many teams. In the two years I have had gamecenter, there is no doubt that the best and brightest fans come from hockeytown. And, even though I was pulling for the Coyotes, the Red Wings fans welcomed me into their chat room with open arms. The discussions most recently focused around the NHL Awards and who the nominees should be. Clearly, both Detroit fans and myself agreed that the NHL, the writers, Bettman, Messier, whoever is in charge doesn’t have a clue. So lets take this opportunity to look at who the finalists and winners should be.

Hart Memorial Trophy- Awarded to the Leagues Most Valuable Player

Pavel Datsyuk: 27-43-70

Henrik Zetterberg: 23-47-70

Tomas Holmstrom‘s Ass 25-20-45

Now clearly Holmstrom‘s ass is a fan favorite and got a lot of support, but among Detroit fans and myself, the award clearly goes to Datsyuk.


Lady Byng Memorial Trophy-Awarded to the player who exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability

Frank J. Selke Trophy- Awarded to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game

Finalists? Who are we kidding here, everyone knows they should just rename these the Pavel Datsyuk Trophies and give them a permanent home in the Joe.


Vezina Trophy– Awarded to the league’s top goaltender

Chris Osgood- 3.02 GAA, .888 sv%

Jimmy Howard- 2.26 GAA, .924 SV%, 37 wins

The Pipe- (stats undetermined)

This was the closest of any of the voting and Howard barely edged out the pipe. (We decided to give him the Crozier and Jennings too, for good measure)


Calder Memorial Trophy– Awarded to the league’s most outstanding rookie player

Jimmy Howard- 37 Wins

Justin Abdelkader 3-3-6

Mattias Rittola 0-0-0 (Rittola was chosen over Ville Leino for not being traded.)

For the 2nd year in a row the award goes to a goalie, Howard is racking up the hardware.


Art Ross Trophy- Awarded to the player who leads the league in total points at the end of the regular season

Maurice ‘Rocket’ Richard Trophy- Awarded to the top goal scorer in the regular season

These awards were the toughest to decide. I mean, most points and goals is so subjective. Every fan knows that Ovechkin and Crosby would never score anything if Bettman didn’t plan it out and tell the refs what to do. We aren’t even sure if the Sedins are human. And Stamkos, well he plays for Tampa Bay, is that even a real team? We decided it was best to only count scoring we knew for sure was legit, so…

Pavel Datsyuk and Henrik Zetterberg share the Ross, (we decided not to use the tiebreaker and give both guys some love) and Datsyuk takes home the Richard


James Norris Memorial Trophy- Awarded to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position

There was a lot of anger when discussing this trophy. As the AWESOME blog, KuklasKorner puts it “Lidstrom (was) screwed by Stats and Stupidity”

So our finalists were:

Nicklas Lidstrom- 9-40-49

Brian Rafalski- 8-34-42

Niklas Kronwall 7-15-22

Winner? Are you joking? Like the Lady Byng and Selke, they should just rename it the Nicklas Lidstrom Trophy.


Jack Adams Award- Awarded to the NHL Coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success

well duh?!?

Mike Babcock

Mike Babcock

Mike Babcock

and our winner- Steve Y… oops I mean Mike Babcock.


Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy-Awarded to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey

Read a great story today about how this award is so unfair. Couldn’t agree more.

Our Winner:

Tomas Homstrom‘s Ass for as that writer put it, “His ability to put the severe in persevere”

As a side note, honorable mention went to the entire Red Wings team for overcoming the obviously biased officiating and Gary Bettman’s team to advance to the 2nd round.


As you can see the NHL, really needs to shape up and start rewarding the players that TRULY deserve the awards.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: